Showtunes and sarcasm

I’ve tried to hate Glee. I really have. Admitting this is way more uncool than actually watching, or even liking, the show. I’ve consciously tried to come up with ways to hate it.

Now I give up. Glee is an American musical comedy drama set in high-school. The characters sing, they dance, they have sex and get pregnant. They sing songs like Sweet Caroline and Defying Gravity. And I like it.

I don’t like it for the stuff mentioned above. I like it because the writing is intelligent (“Mercedes is black. I’m gay. We make culture.”) and because they also sing songs like Rehab and Bust a Move. Jane Lynch’s scheming, vindictive, power-mad cheerleading coach is reason enough to watch the show. The characters don’t start singing out of the blue, they sing and dance when they reherse and perform. They are underdogs who get slushies thrown in their faces on a daily basis. And they almost never win.

And yes, I’m probably a bit biased  knowing that one of the creators is Ryan Murphy, who did Popular (and Nip/Tuck, but who cares about that?) which I watched obsessivly when it was on.

One Response

  1. ja visste att du ska börja att gilla den 🙂

Leave a Reply

