Page turners wanted

One of the best things in the world, and I think you’ll all agree with me here, is a book you can’t put away before you finish it. It’s in no way an end in itself, of course, and I guess that it is characteristic for novels of more modest literary quality. I just love not being able to think about anything else than continuing to read a certain novel. That’s the way it was with Anna minun rakastaa enemmän, To Kill a Mockingbird and Harry Potter, just to name a few.

Now, I don’t read crime novels. It just isn’t my genre. But I spent last weekend with Jo Nesbø’s Panserhjerte and could not put it away. Apart from the fact that the main character is the biggest detective cliche there is (dislike of authorities, commitment issues, not afraid to bend the rules, alcoholic), it was great.

According to the Economist, Scandinavian crime fiction’s success can be explained with language, heroes (“careworn and rumpled” detectives) and setting (ie the welfare state and it’s dark underside). This all applies to Nesbø.

Today I’ve bought another novel in the series. Am giddy with exitement to start reading it. Have so many more important things to do than reading a crime novel, but I don’t care. See you in a few hundred pages.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

