Day 6: My Best Friend

Ida and I met in kindergarten in 1992. It was (and is, I think) a wonderful small kindergarten on a bar-heavy pedestrian street in Helsinki called Iso Roobertinkatu. When almost all the other kids went to the same local primary school, Ida and I went to a Waldorf school.

We sat in thousands of art classes together, went on school trips to the Finnish archipelago, to Trondheim, to Amsterdam. We learned the Eurythmy alphabet (did you know that the Eurythmics got their name from Eurythmy. Well, now you know) – and though I can’t speak for Ida, I didn’t understand any of it.

Now Ida lives in London and I in Melbourne.

The point is, nineteen years later, we’re still friends.

Though we don’t meet very often right now because of geographical reasons, I know that when we do I’ll have a great time. I know that I don’t have to explain everything to her, because she knows me so well that she will understand.

That said, it sucks that we live on opposite sides of the world right now.

Ida and I in 2005, I think.

3 Responses

  1. ❤ ❤ ❤ kanner mig som en kandis nu! kram fran andra sidan planeten.

  2. aj, fan vad det blev fula hjartan. sori.

  3. […] sentence even English? Who cares). I have millions of reasons for saying this, one of them being this. Because we’ve literally lived on the complete opposite sides of Tellus for the past seven […]

Leave a Reply

