Day 9: What’s in my bag

What’s in my bag or, rather, my backpack?

The short answer is, at the moment, my whole life.

I don’t mean this in the Up in the Air -kind of symbolical sense. Almost everything I own in this city, this country, this hemisphere is in that backpack.

I like it.

Though I don’t share Mr Clooney’s character’s views about relationships, I like not having too much stuff.

People have too much stuff.

I grew up in a household where you didn’t throw away stuff. This doesn’t mean my parents are crazy hoarders or anything, they just don’t like throwing away things that still work and could still be useful. They are from the generation that fixes things instead of throwing them away and buying new ones.

The thing is, it just feels like you have more freedom with less stuff. I would like to be like George Clooney (sans emotional issues) and his carry-on luggage only.

Just writing this, though, makes me realise that I’m a bit of a hypocrite. Who am I kidding – I have stuff. I have stuff home in Finland. I even have stuff here in Melbourne. I can try to sell you guys this romantic notion that I have nothing but quiet determination and my backpack. The truth is I have a suitcase full of stuff in addition to the romantic backpack.

Literal answer? My handbag at the moment contains: wallet, camera, ear plugs, map of central Java, chewing gum, various used plane tickets, various tickets to public transport in different cities, comb, usb stick, an earring, band-aid, various used movie, theatre and exhibition tickets.

One Response

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Debbie Hayes, Christina. Christina said: Day 9: What's in my bag « Raising Sara: I would like to be like George Clooney (sans emotional issues) and his c… http://bit.ly/h4VEHX […]

Leave a Reply

