“This is Africa”

“This is Africa”, my friend often says. This is usually in a situation where there is a problem and I have gotten angry and frustrated.

I complain about Africa a lot.

Even though I have been in this part of the world for two months now, I still get frustrated whenever the internet that we are supposed to have access to doesn’t work. I get angry when there is no hot water. I sometimes don’t have the patience to start each sentence with ‘how are you’ etc when there is a problem to be solved.

And then my Namibian friend says, ‘silly rabbit, this is Africa’.

The truth is, there are often problems. These problems are, however, almost always solved. Conversations cannot start in any other way than with asking how someone is. People should not be rushed, even if you are in a hurry. Politeness and formality is important.

In spite of the two months, I still expect the internet to work. I still get frustrated. I act as the rich, efficiency obsessed westerner that I am.

But then I think about the people I’ve met, and the places I’ve visited. I think about how nice it is that people look you in the eye and ask you how you are. I think about the giraffes we saw in Etosha national park.

One Response

  1. Haha, man sku lika bra kunna tro att du e i england (minus girafferna, förstås). Ja vet att ja frågat 100 miljoner gånger, men när kommer du hem? Ja kommer på söndag!

Leave a Reply

