Ice cold

In Melbourne again (Yes, I’ve done enough planet destroying for a lifetime with my flying all over the place. I feel bad, but freight ships to places like Australia take too long).

Now, Melbourne is wonderful. It’s not just because the Economist Intelligence Unit says so. It’s so much more metropolitan, multicultural, open-minded than my home city. It’s not perfect of course, but I love its flaws too. I have, for instance, learned not to get riled up about planning issues and urban sprawl (ie everybody needing their own house and their own back yard). It’s part of the package.

Today I wondered whether I would ever learn to talk as much and as fast as many Australians do (disclaimer: not all, of course, and this is just my personal observation). I don’t know whether this is because I’m Finnish or because I have some personality traits of a 80-year old, but I like silence. Sometimes it’s true that you shouldn’t say anything if you have nothing good to say.

Then again, yesterday I was told: “You are so cold. But I guess it’s just how you Scandinavians are”.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

