On eating food, stuff you like, as much as you want.

The past year or so, I’ve thought about food a lot. I’ve eaten it, cooked it, bought it, read about it, talked about it and above all thought about it a shitload, to be honest. It started about two years ago with me realising that I weigh more than I did when I was 16 and decided it was a good idea to try to aim to weigh that much again.

I have realised that I’ve come a long way since then. Granted, I still talk about food and nutrition with my friends more than they care to pretend to be interested in. In November, I started reading about raw food and tried it (well, kind of) for a while (for me, it started with reading this post in a Finnish blog). I bought expensive seaweed and got married to my blender. I got a bit obsessed about it, actually. The food was supposed to make me feel really good. What I didn’t realise was that the food I ate previously didn’t make me feel bad, quite the contrary.

After all that, I remembered the awesome Fat Nutritionist and re-read her thoughts on healthy eating: Eat food. Stuff you like. As much as you want (a jab at Michael Pollan, who does say some very interesting things also).

So after a month or so I baked cinnamon rolls – and ate four of them right then, right there. Wuaah! Sugar! Wheat! Butter! Toxic cinnamon! But guess what? They tasted amazing, and nothing happened. I did not die – quite the contrary: I felt great. I also felt a little bit silly about my food obsession. All this time I had convinced myself that it was all about getting ‘healthier’, when it, in the back of my mind, was about getting thinner, too. It’s not only a disturbing thought because there is nothing wrong with my body, but because a lot of the links between health and weight are skewed, to say the least.

So now, when the instructor at my gym yells at me to do a move harder because it will make my ‘arse look good’, I get pissed off. I want to go to the gym to feel better, to get fitter and healthier. I’ve messed up my relationship with my body quite enough on my own.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

